Nowshera beat Swabi in opener of 13th NBP KP Inter-District Men Football Championship


From Sorts Correspondent

PESHAWAR: Nowshera defeated Swabi by 3-0 in the opening match of the 13th edition of the NBP Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Inter-District Men Football Championship, which got under way here at historical and newly rehabilitated Tehmas Khan Football Stadium yesterday.

The colourful opening ceremony was held in the recently rehabilitated Tehmas Khan Football Stadium, equipped with floodlights facility, players changing rooms. Regional Chief National Bank of Pakistan Muhammad Sohail Khan graced the occasion as chief guest. President KP Football Association and former Health Minister Syed Zahir Ali Shah, organizing Secretary Basit Kamal, District Sports Officer Jamshed Baloch, Director Development Niamat Ullah Marwat, and large number of spectators were also present.

The opening match was started on a slow note and soon Nowshera took the lead in the 9th minute when Jaffar netted a fine goal on the field attempt while Jamshed made it 2-0 when he slammed home a beautiful goal on the field attempt in the 21st minute.

Leading 2-0 at half-time, Nowshera scored another goal in the 66th minute through Imtiaz Khan on the field attempt and thus won the opening match by 3-0 in a one-sided affair. Swabi team made some occasional inroads but overall Nowshera dominated the proceedings.

Tehmas Khan Football Stadium also got distinction of being the first one in the province to have floodlights facilities and now the players could play football in night time, District Sports Officer, Peshawar Jamshed Balouch, accompanied with Basit Kamal informed media. Basit Kamal disclosed that a total of 16 teams including Peshawar Green, Nowhsera, Mardan, Dir, Malakand, Chitral, Swabi, Charsaddda, Dera Ismail Khan, Tank, Lakki Marwat, Karak, Bannu, Kohat, Peshawar White, and Manshera are taking part.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here